Posted by: felinegroovy | October 15, 2007

Random Facts

1. Post these rules before you give your facts.
2. List 8 random facts about yourself.
3. At the end of your post, choose (tag) 8 people and list their
names, linking to them.
4. Leave a comment on their blog, letting them know they’ve been tagged.

……………………………………………………………………………………………….

1. I always close gates. Old habits die hard.

2. I love black cockatoos, the raucous sound of them, their size, the way they hang about in great big gangs and then every now and then you’ll see just one or two of them heading off somewhere.

3. I have 6 brothers. 4 of them blood brothers.

4. I can’t sing. Though I love to listen and sometimes I get tears when I hear my nieces sing and when I used to hear my kids sing the school song. Dancing is good.

5. I grew up on farms in the Eastern Wheatbelt of Western Australia. One of my first paid jobs -when I was still in primary school – was collecting “dead wool”, that is, wool from the carcasses of dead sheep, we’d (my little bro and I were the team) bag it up, take it town and sell it for a pittance. The country version of a paper round I suppose. We didn’t last long, it was a foul job and paid too little. Much later, when I was 14, three of my brothers and I teamed up during harvest time. Our job was to drive out to the header, collect the harvested grain and drive it back to the farm and auger it out. There were two teams, two vehicles, Stewart and I preferred the big old Coke truck, the land rover with a trailer was a bit frightening, we were always worried it would jackknife and coming down the hill was also scary. This was altogether a better job, more satisfying and much better paid.

6. I have a collection of pebbles, smooth round rocks that I choose to pick up every now and then. I try to remember the moments I collected each pebble. One, a small black smooth one, I collected at the site of a new dam being built outside Margaret River shortly after my Father’s death.

7. I wrote a thesis on the language of motherhood, a chapter of the thesis was creative writing – sandwiched between chapters of blarg trying to interpret and position theorists like Kristeva, Iriguay, Lacan and Freud.

8. I play netball, I started playing when I was about 8, my Mum convinced me I could (taught me to) catch and throw. I play in goals but am not really great. I sing a John Denver tune, “Country Roads, Take me Home to the place I belong West Virginia” to calm me down before I shoot for goals.

I tag Lady Sultana, Graeme, Justaposition … I know I’m supposed to tag 8 but this is all I’ve got for now! Will see if I can update it later!         

Leave a Reply

Categories

